top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrystal B.

Day 2 - 12 Days of Christmas Song

Updated: Dec 8, 2018


It's Day 2 of our 12 Days of Christmas Tea Tasting. I hope you are enjoying every sip of your holiday tea!


It's been a long time since I've heard the classic 12 Days of Christmas song. I thought it would be nice to listen to the song as we drink our Chocolate Turtle Dove Tea today. I hope you are delighted with this delicious black breakfast tea with hints of chocolate and caramel. Enjoy!


"The Twelve Days of Christmas" song is an English Christmas carol. In my search to find the significance of this ancient song, I discovered some spiritual symbolism. I've learned that from 1558 until 1829 Roman Catholics in England were not allowed to practice their faith openly so the song was written to hide a secret meaning known only to Church members. Whether or not this is true, I don't know, but I thought it was interesting to read. Here's the meaning of the lyrics...


The True Love, of course, represents God and the partridge in the pear tree represents Jesus and His death on the cross (a tree).

The two turtle doves refers to the Old and New Testaments.

The three French hens stood for the three gifts of the wise men: gold, frankincense, and myrrh.

The four calling birds represent the four gospels: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.

The five golden rings speaks of the first five books of the Old Testament, known as Moses' books.

The six geese a-laying is for the six days of creation.

Seven swans a-swimming regards to the gifts of the Holy Spirit: wisdom, understanding, counsel, strength, knowledge, piety, and fear of the Lord (Romans 12:6-8).

The eight maids a-milking are for the eight beatitudes found in Matthew 5.

Nine ladies dancing were the nine fruits of the Holy Spirit: Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, and Self-Control. (Galatians 5:22-23)

The ten lords a-leaping stood for the Ten Commandments.

The eleven pipers piping represents the eleven faithful Apostles.

The twelve drummers drumming symbolized the 12 points of doctrine from the ancient Apostle’s Creed.



I hope you found this interesting and will now listen to this great Christmas song with new ears. It's my prayer that it will turn your heart toward Jesus every time you hear it.



Resources:


https://www.catholicnewsagency.com/resources/advent/customs-and-traditions/the-history-of-the-twelve-days-of-christmas


https://www.sharefaith.com/blog/2010/12/story-meaning-christmas-carol-the-twelve-days-christmas/


https://www.beliefnet.com/faiths/christianity/2000/12/the-twelve-days-of-christmas.aspx

19 views2 comments

2 comentários


Crystal B.
Crystal B.
06 de dez. de 2018

I'm so glad you liked it! I'm finding it fascinating learning about this beautiful ancient Christmas song. Thanks for the comment, Sandy.

Curtir

Sandy Mcgarrh
04 de dez. de 2018

WOW!! I love reading this!!! This is the first time I've heard this!! So fascinating. I'll forever listen and sing this song with new revelation!

Curtir
bottom of page