top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrystal B.

Back in Business with SCONES!


Oh, it feels so good to be back in business! I have missed having an online tea shoppe so much! From handling beautiful vintage tea cups, hosting tea parties, and of course, trying a large variety of teas, what's not to miss? So after a year-long break, I'm ready to re-open my online doors!


When I first started thinking about opening my business again, I thought about all the things I liked about my business and the things I wasn't crazy about. One of the things I disliked (besides dealing with tax stuff) was the price increase of shipping. Even though I absolutely love the vintage tea cups I sold, I couldn't see myself shipping them again. So I had to come up with a different plan...


Since I love my interaction with customers/friends, I had to think of a way to still mingle with them plus offer something worthwhile. Scones are one of my favorite things to enjoy with a cup of tea, even though I only bake them for special family events and holidays. I love to bake so I thought what better way to make scones more often than to make them for others. So, I was on a mission to improve my scones to the best of my ability.


The desire to improve my baking skills and come up with my own recipes became my way of focus for a while. I knew that the only way to improve at anything was through practice and a lot of it. The first thing I needed to do was get a basic recipe down. From there I could add on to make a variety of flavors. It took me SEVEN tries to get the basic recipe the way I wanted it. That's a lot of flour, sugar, and butter, but I think it was worth it!


The best part of my tea business has always been the "tasting" I get to enjoy. I have loved tea tasting with my daughters in the past, especially in my search for the right Christmas teas. But scone tasting has taken the fun to a whole new level! This time I asked a few girlfriends to help me decide on which scones to include. It has been a great time for all of us! Through this culinary adventure I now feel confident enough to start selling the scones to local customers.


The sweet scone flavors I've chosen are:


Classic Plain

Cinnamon

Lemon Poppyseed

Cranberry Orange

Pumpkin

Gingerbread

Earl Grey

Lemon Lavender

Chocolate Chip


I've added some savory ones too.


Rosemary Parmesan

Cheddar Chive


Of course, this list will be tweaked as I continue to come up with different flavors.


So, that's the story. Scones seem to be the best fit for me right now. I plan to add new teas to my shoppe shortly. After all, what's a scone without a hot cup of tea to go with it?


If you live in my area and are interested in serving your family and guests some delicious scones at your next gathering, please reach out to me. I'd love to bake for you!


To find out more about our scones, please visit our scone page.


Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog and for your support. I hope you have a wonderful day.




8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page